May 14 Deadline – First Iowa State Legislative Campaign Finance Deadline in 2018

Email from Sen. Robb Hogg:


HD 73 candidate Jodi Clemens and Senator Robb Hogg

Support one or more of our Democratic candidates for state legislature, so we have the resources we need to compete and win

Join State Rep. Art Staed and me at the Sag Wagon, 827 Shaver Road NE, in Cedar Rapids, on Monday, May 14, from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Dear Friends:

I got out door-to-door with state representative candidate Jodi Clemens in Iowa House District 73 near Solon earlier this week (see picture above), and I hope all our candidates are hitting the doors.

You can help by contributing financially to our candidates. Don’t wait to be asked. We need thousands of contributors, giving more than previous elections, so we can have the resources we need to compete and win.

With the many bad things Republicans are doing at both the state and national level, this election has never been more important. We must win so we can stop and reverse the damage being done to our state and our country.

Below are a list of upcoming events and a list of candidates who need your support. If you or people you know want to visit with me about how citizens can make a bigger difference – on issues, my re-election campaign, or with other campaigns – please let me know.

It is urgent for citizens to get engaged and stay engaged on issues and campaigns at both the state and national level. If we work together, we can choose a more responsible direction, and build a safe, healthy, peaceful, prosperous, inclusive, and sustainable future for all.


Senator Rob Hogg

Cedar Rapids




Monday, May 14 – Post-Session Fundraiser for State Rep. Art Staed’s campaign and my campaign from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. at the Sag Wagon, 827 Shaver Road NE, in Cedar Rapids (next to Cedar Lake). For more details, visit:

Saturday, May 19 – Voter registration and engagement drive from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., starting from the Higley Building, 118 3rd Ave. SE, in downtown Cedar Rapids (across from the Paramount). For more details, visit:

Saturday, May 19 – Linn Phoenix Club fundraiser featuring all four Democratic Congressional candidates (Abby Finkenauer, Thomas Heckroth, George Ramsey, and Courtney Rowe) from 1:00 to 3:00 p.m. at Raygun, 1028 3rd St. SE, in Cedar Rapids. For more details, visit:

I hope to see you at one or more of these events.


Here is an updated list of Democratic candidates across Iowa running for seats currently held by Republicans (by district number and by one or more population centers in the district). Don’t wait to be asked – these candidates need our help financially and with volunteer time.

Senate Candidates:

SD3 – Dave Dawson (Sioux City / LeMars)

SD5 – John O’Brien (Fort Dodge)

SD7 – Jackie Smith (Sioux City)

SD11 – Sara Ramsey (Corning)

SD13 – Vicky Brenner (Indianola)

SD19 – Amber Gustafson (Ankeny)

SD25 – Tracy Freese (Iowa Falls)

SD41 – Mary Stewart, Ed Malloy (Ottumwa / Fairfield)

SD47 – Marie Gleason (Bettendorf)

House Candidates:

HD1 – Karen Larson (Larchwood / Spirit Lake)

HD2 – Ryan Odor (Spencer)

HD5 – Andrew Emanuel (Le Mars)

HD6 – Rita DeJong (Sioux City)

HD7 – Debra Jensen (Estherville / Forest City)

HD8 – Connie Price (Britt / Clarion)

HD10 – Jake Thompson (Rockwell City)

HD12 – Peter Leo (Audubon / Carroll)

HD16 – Steve Gorman (Council Bluffs)

HD17 – Jan Creasman (Onawa / Ida Grove)

HD19 – Gregg Gustafson (Adel)

HD20 – Warren Varley (Guthrie Center / Greenfield)

HD21 – Denise O’Brien (Atlantic / Creston)

HD22 – Ray Stevens (Avoca)

HD23 – Chuck Larson (Glenwood / Red Oak)

HD24 – James Uhlenkamp (Mount Ayr)

HD25 – Ryan Marquardt (Winterset)

HD27 – Richard Foster (Osceola)

HD28 – Ann Fields and Zachary Pendroy (Knoxville)

HD30 – Dan Nieland and Kent Balduchi (Altoona)

HD37 – Andrew Rasmussen (Ankeny)

HD38 – Heather Matson and Reyma McCoy McDeid (Ankeny)

HD39 – Karin Derry (Johnston)

HD42 – Kristin Sunde (West Des Moines)

HD43 – Jennifer Konfrst (Clive)

HD44 – Kenan Judge (Waukee)

HD47 – David Weaver (Boone)

HD48 – Tim Winter (Webster City)

HD49 – Brenda Brink (Nevada / Eldora)

HD50 – Dennis Evans (Iowa Falls / Grundy Center)

HD51 – Tim Knutson (Osage)

HD55 – Kayla Koether (Decorah)

HD56 – Lori Egan and Andy Kelleher (Waukon)

HD57 – Nancy Fett and Leo Gansen (Dyersville)

HD58 – Joe Oclon (Bellevue / Anamosa / Maquoketa)

HD60 – David Williams (Cedar Falls)

HD63 – Eric Stromberg (Waverly)

HD67 – Eric Gjerde (Hiawatha)

HD68 – Molly Donahue and Scott Foens (Marion)

HD72 – Dave Degner, Jocelyn George, John Anderson and Mindy Benson (Tama/Toledo)

HD73 – Jodi Clemens (Tipton)

HD75 – Paula Denison, Doris Guildford and Dennis Mathahs (Vinton)

HD76 – Ann Egley (Williamsburg / Grinnell)

HD78 – Kimberly Davis (Washington / Sigourney)

HD79 – Samantha Keith (Oskaloosa / Pella)

HD80 – Susan McDanel (Albia / Centerville)

HD84 – Jason Moats (Mt. Pleasant)

HD88 – Lanny Hillyard (Mediapolis / Columbus Junction)

HD91 – Laura Liegois (Muscatine)

HD92 – Jean Simpson (Eldridge)

HD94 – Joan Marttila (Bettendorf)

HD95 – Christian Andrews (Central City / Mt. Vernon)

HD96 – Reenie Montgomery (Manchester/Monticello)

HD97 – Tim McClimon (DeWitt)

I will update this list after the June 5 primary. Please adopt one or more of these candidates to help, so together we can take back the Iowa House and the Iowa Senate, un-do the damage Republicans are doing to our state, and get Iowa going forward in a progressive direction.

About Dave Bradley

retired in West Liberty
This entry was posted in #trumpresistance, 2018 Election Campaign, Blog for Iowa, Iowa legislature 2018, Rob Hogg and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.