Iowa’s Three Former Supreme Court Justices To Receive Noun Award at ACLU of Iowa Dinner

Iowa’s Three Former Supreme Court Justices To Receive Noun Award at ACLU of Iowa Dinner

The ACLU Foundation of Iowa is proud to announce that the 2011 Louise Noun Award will be presented to the three former Iowa Supreme Court justices: Marsha Ternus, David Baker, and Michael Streit.

The justices were removed by voters last November in the wake of the Iowa Supreme Court’s 2009 unanimous ruling supporting marriage equality. They will be present to be honored at the ACLU of Iowa annual dinner in Iowa City on Saturday, April 30.

The Louise Noun Award, named after the remarkable Des Moines activist, philanthropist, and former president of the ACLU of Iowa, goes to those who have made significant contributions or displayed uncommon courage on behalf of civil liberties in the state.

”This award, created in the memory of Louise Noun in 2004, is typically awarded to an individual or group of individuals who have amassed a lifetime record of fighting for civil liberties or who have shown courage and leadership in standing up for democracy, equality, constitutional rights, and justice,” said Randall Wilson, legal director for the ACLU of Iowa.

“We honor these three former justices for their steadfastness, leadership, and adherence to the ideal of an independent and professional judiciary governed by the rule of law,” Wilson said. “Each of these justices had the courage to join in the unanimous and historic opinion in Varnum v. Brien recognizing that equal protection under the Iowa Constitution required civil recognition of marriages between same sex
couples. They did so knowing full well what the consequences of that decision might be.“

The dinner’s keynote speaker will be Des Moines attorney Sharon Malheiro, a leading advocate in LGBT issues. Malheiro founded and is the chair of One Iowa, the largest statewide civil rights organization dedicated to LGBT issues in Iowa. She has been a significant force in achieving same-sex marriage equality in this state.  A former journalist, Malheiro joined the Davis Brown law firm in 1990. She was
elected president of the firm’s board of directors earlier this year.  Soon after joining the firm, Malheiro started working on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered (LGBT) issues. She worked to amend Des Moines’ human rights ordinance to include protections for gay and lesbian people, to introduce the Iowa Safe Schools legislation, and to add a LGBT amendment to the Iowa Civil Rights Act.

The dinner and program will be held at the University Athletic Club on the campus of the University of Iowa.

The schedule will include a 6:00 p.m. Appreciation Reception for the justices and our keynote speaker. The dinner and program starts at 7:00.
Dinner is $45, with lower prices for students and those with limited means.
Visit for more information and to register on-line. Or email or call 515-243-3576, ext. 13.

Contact: Veronica Lorson Fowler, communications specialist or 515-451-1777

This entry was posted in ACLU, Civil Liberties, Main Page. Bookmark the permalink.