Do This On Earth Day April 22

Action alert from CCI:

Eighteen organizations have joined CCI in calling on Governor Reynolds to institute an immediate 6 month moratorium on factory farms to stop public health risks and environmental degradation brought by the factory farm industry.

Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom
Jan Corderman, (515) 205-4504

Poweshiek CARES
Val Vetter, valvetter3@gmail.com

Southern Boone County Farmers and Neighbors
Danielle Wirth Ph.D., ehorizon@minburncomm.net

Jefferson County Farmers and Neighbors
Diane Rosenberg, diane@dianerosenberg.com

Iowa Citizens for Responsible Agriculture – Worth County
Edith Haenel, emhaenel@gmail.com

Northeast Iowans for Clean Air and Water
Sue George, sj-george@hotmail.com

Calhoun County Against CAFO’s
Emma Schmit, eschmit@fwwatch.org

Henry County Farmers and Neighbors
Ronald Wyse, ronaldjwyse@gmail.com

Des Moines County Farmers and Neighbors for Optimal Health
Jean Lappe, tclappe@louisacomm.net

Physicians for Social Responsibility
Maureen McCue, mickiq@earthlink.net

Food & Water Watch
Krissy Kasserman, kkasserman@fwwatch.org

Science and Environmental Health Network
Carolyn Raffensperger, carolyn@sehn.org

Linn County Farmers and Neighbors
Regina Behmlander, regina@linnfan.org

Organic Consumer Association
Patrick Kerrigan, patrick@organicconsumers.org

Iowa Alliance for Responsible Agriculture

Diane Rosenberg, diane@dianerosenberg.com

Socially Responsible Agriculture Project
Chris Peterson, chrisp@sraproject.org

Howard County Democrats
Laura Hubka, laurahubka@gmail.com

Now we are organizing a statewide call in day demanding Reynolds enact a 6-month moratorium on new and expanding factory farm construction permits in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Can you take 5 minutes to call Reynolds next week? Sign up for more information on how and when here.

The leadership that Reynolds appointed at the DNR has rolled back nearly all environmental protections from the factory farm industry, allowing factory farms to cram extra animals into confinements and suspending fines for environmental violations. Currently, 90% of the nitrates and 75% of the phosphorus in Iowa’s waterways come from industrial agriculture and factory farms.

Clean water is a human right and essential in moments like these. Reynolds needs to reign in the leadership she appointed at the DNR and put the interests of everyday Iowans, like clean water, above the corporate profits of the factory farm industry.

That’s why we are organizing a statewide call in day demanding Reynolds implement an immediate 6-month moratorium in response to COVID-19Sign up here to get more details to participate in our statewide call in day next week.

Iowans should not have to worry about a factory farm going up next door while dealing with a global health pandemic.

This entry was posted in Blog for Iowa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.