Local Labor Day Weekend Events

iowaaflcio.org/labor-day-events

August 31: Saturday

Lucas:  John L. Lewis Labor Festival For More Information: Call 641-766-6421 or 641-766-6544 More Info

September 1: Sunday

Clinton: Clinton Labor Congress: Eagle Point Park Lodge. Noon to 3:00 PM. FREE. Dave Keefer 309-230-6476  dkeefer@lu25.org

Fort Dodge: Western Iowa Labor Federation. Oleson Park, 12th Avenue S and 17th St. Fort Dodge. 1:00 PM.

September 2: Labor Day

Burlington: Des Moines/Henry County: 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM. At 40 & 8 Park (located behind Community Field in Burlington). Single $5, Family $10. Tickets include: Meal, Door Prizes, Kids Games and Bounce House. Ryan Drew rdrew@local150.org. 319-759-3188.

Cedar Falls: Black Hawk Assembly: Gateway Shelter in Cedar Falls on the Cedar River and Main St.  11:30 AM to 3 PM. Jerry Hageman  slinky.jh@gmail.com. 319-230-3757

Cedar Rapids: Hawkeye Area Labor Council: Hawkeye Downs 4400 6th St SW, Cedar Rapids Iowa. 11:00 Am to 4 PM. Rick Moyle.  rmoyle@hawkeyelabor.us. 319-396-8461

Council Bluffs: Western Iowa Labor Federation. Lake Manawa State Park. Shelter #^. 2 1/2 miles south of Interstate 80 (exit 3), Council Bluffs. 4:00 PM.

Des Moines: Parade starts at State Capitol 11:00 AM. Following the parade, union members and family are welcome to the Labor Union Park, 4640 Morningstar Drive. Park will clost at 5:00PM. Mark Cooper mark@scifl.org 515-265-1862.

Dubuque: Labor Day Post-Parade Picnic: Swiss Valley Park – Green Ash Pavillon. Picnic starts immediately following the Dubuque Labor Day Parade. Food and activites. Please bring a pot luck dish to share. Pete Hird  pete@ibew704.com or 563-542-5546 to RSVP.

Iowa City: Iowa City Fed Assembly: Iowa City Park, Shelter #TBT. Noon to 4:00 PM. (Bring covered dish). Greg Hearns ghearns@iowalabor.com.  319-361-2374

Marshalltown: Iowa River Labor Coalition. UAW Hall 893, 411 Iowa Ave W, Marshallton, Iowa. 11:30 AM to 3:00 PM. Rick Moyle rmoyle@hawkeyelabor.us  319-396-8461 or  Carrie Knipfer  carrie12975@gmail.com.

Mason City: North Iowa Nine Assembly: Georgia Hanford Park, 2300 block of South Pennsylvania Ave. 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM. Randy Solsaa 641-512-8823  solsaa@wctatel.net.

Quad Cities: Labor Day Parade starting at 11:00 AM t John Deere Harvestor Works Parking Lot, 1100 13th Ave. East Moline, IL. Cecilia O’Brien – (309) 756-7709   cecilia60@mchsi.com

Sioux City: Western Iowa Labor Federation. Riverside Park 1301 Riverside Blvd. Sioux City. 11:00 AM.

 

This entry was posted in Blog for Iowa and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.