Iowa State Fair Political Soapbox Schedule

Andrew Yang, Democrat

“Iowa has a great system. It’s where a candidate nobody’s ever heard of is taken seriously.”  – Howard Dean

The Iowa State Fair Soapbox schedule will be updated online if changes occur. 

Can’t make the fair this year?  The Des Moines Register will livestream all of the speakers at

Thursday, Aug. 8

  • 12:45 p.m.: Democrat Steve Bullock, the sitting governor of Montana.
  • 1:30 p.m.: Democrat Joe Biden, a former vice president and former U.S. senator from Delaware.

Friday, Aug. 9

  • 9 a.m.: Democrat Julián Castro, secretary of Housing and Urban Development under President Barack Obama and the former mayor of San Antonio, Texas.
  • 10:30 a.m.: Democrat Andrew Yang, a businessman.
  • 11:15 a.m.: Democrat Beto O’Rourke, a former U.S. representative from Texas.
  • Noon: Democrat John Delaney, a former U.S. representative from Maryland.
  • 1:30 p.m.: Democrat Marianne Williamson, an author and activist.
  • 2:15 p.m.: Democrat Tulsi Gabbard, the U.S. representative for Hawaii’s 2nd Congressional District.

Saturday, Aug. 10

  • 9 a.m.: Democrat Jay Inslee, the sitting governor of Washington.
  • 10:30 a.m.: Democrat Kamala Harris, a U.S. senator from California.
  • 11:15 a.m.: Democrat Tim Ryan, the U.S. representative for Ohio’s 13th Congressional District.
  • 12:45 p.m.: Democrat Amy Klobuchar, a U.S. senator from Minnesota.
  • 1:30 p.m.: Democrat Joe Sestak, a former U.S. representative from Pennsylvania and retired vice admiral in the U.S. Navy.
  • 2:15 p.m.: Democrat Kirsten Gillibrand, a U.S. senator from New York.
  • 3 p.m.: Democrat John Hickenlooper, a former governor of Colorado.
  • 3:45 p.m.: Democrat Elizabeth Warren, a U.S. senator from Massachusetts.
  • 4:30 p.m.: Democrat Cory Booker, a U.S. senator from New Jersey.

Sunday, Aug. 11

  • 11:15 a.m.: Republican Bill Weld, a former governor of Massachusetts.
  • 1:30 p.m.: Democrat Tom Steyer, a businessman and political donor.
  • 3 p.m.: Democrat Michael Bennet, a U.S. senator from Colorado.
  • 3:45 p.m.: Bernie Sanders, a U.S. senator from Vermont and an independent seeking the Democratic nomination.
  • 4:30 p.m.: Democrat Bill de Blasio, mayor of New York City. 

Tuesday, Aug. 13

  • 1:30 p.m.: Democrat Pete Buttigieg, mayor of South Bend, Indiana.

Saturday, Aug. 17

  • Noon: Democrat Seth Moulton, the U.S. representative for Massachusetts’ 6th Congressional District.

No one is currently scheduled to speak on Monday, Aug. 12; Wednesday through Friday, Aug. 14-16; and Sunday, Aug. 18.

The following candidates have been invited to the Des Moines Register Political Soapbox but have yet to schedule appearances: Democrat Wayne Messam and Republican Donald Trump.

This entry was posted in Blog for Iowa. Bookmark the permalink.