ACLU Names Allen Honorees

ACLU - Iowa(Editor’s Note: The American Civil Liberties Union of Iowa created the Edward S. Allen award. Here is their release about the ceremony coming Oct. 2 in Des Moines).

August 27, 2015

I’m excited to announce that we have named three remarkable Iowa leaders as the first-ever recipients of the ACLU of Iowa Edward S. Allen award, named after the Iowa State University math professor who founded the ACLU of Iowa in 1935. The honorees this inaugural year are Dennis Barnum, Mary Garst, and Art Neu.
The past year marked the passing of all three, who have done much to defend and advance civil liberties for all Iowans. As a result, to recognize them in a fitting way, the ACLU of Iowa created a new award to recognize such individuals, living or deceased. Find out more about the Allen Award honorees’ accomplishments.
We created the Edward S. Allen award to ensure that we had the ability to recognize Iowans who are long-time civil liberties heroes. While the ACLU of Iowa staff and board work tirelessly to defend civil liberties, we cannot do it alone, and it is important to recognize members of our community who give of their own time to expand and protect civil liberties in our state.
Please join me and the ACLU of Iowa staff and board at our 80th Birthday Bash on Friday, October 2 to celebrate our 80th year and recognize these three Edward S. Allen Award honorees.

ACLU of Iowa 80th Birthday Bash
Friday, October 2, 5:30-8 p.m.
World Food Prize Building, Des Moines

We hope to see you there!
Jeremy Rosen, Executive Director

This entry was posted in ACLU and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.